Help with programming

General technological topics without their own forum go here

Help with programming

Post by mrmasterful17 on Sun May 23, 2010 1:15 am
([msg=38928]see Help with programming[/msg])

Hello guys. I'm starting to get more interested in programming and could use some help. I want to learn web programming/design. Java, HTML, PHP. I have no idea the difference amongst them but I always see them being mentioned here on HTS when web programming is being discussed. Do I need to know all three or is one good enough and are there any other languages that I should be aware of? I currently don't have any money to afford books, and I'm still in school, so if you can point me in the direction of some free e books/websites that would be appreciated. I have some knowledge of C programming but I don't know enough to do anything useful with it besides the rudimentary questions they ask for exams. Sorry for making you read this long paragraph and thanks in advance for any help you have to offer me.
mrmasterful17
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Help with programming

Post by Skiddie Killer on Sun May 23, 2010 7:45 am
([msg=38930]see Re: Help with programming[/msg])

Start with HTML.Then learn javascript.After that,learn a high level programming lanuage(e.g. Python).In the meantime,learn as much as you can about computers,and how they work.I too am a beginner,but I would like to give you an advice-whatever you're learning about,dont just memorize it.Write code,make sure you understand it,and practice.
Good luck!
Skiddie Killer
New User
New User

Post by Goatboy on Sun May 23, 2010 9:41 am
([msg=38931]see Re: Help with programming[/msg])

Like Skiddie said, learn HTML first. It's not really a programming language, because it doesn't actually do anything, but it's the backbone of any web page. It is the content; the words, paragraphs, images, and so on. Without it, you will not be able to function as a web designer/programmer.