Hey. Quick question...

General technological topics without their own forum go here

Hey. Quick question...

Post by louie540 on Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:25 pm
([msg=55757]see Hey. Quick question...[/msg])

Excuse me for being new. I'm new to the whole hacking thing. I've so far done the basic missions, and about 2 or 3 realistic missions.

There is one website that I'd like to see be taken down. I'm not sure if encouraging hacking breaks the rules, but hey, this is what we do. Some of you may be familiar with the fake youtube page, (without the "E"), there are a couple of other ways to type Youtube wrong that will get you the same website.

Their mission is to have you fill out a 3 question survey, posing as Youtube. They promise you a big reward like a 1,000$ gift card to best buy or an iPad or something. I clicked out at this point, but apparently people fill out their phone numbers, email, etc and are now being spammed.

They don't appear to say that they are Youtube (probably avoiding Copyright complaints), but you know they want you to think that they are.

What do you think? Hackable?
Or maybe they need a couple of "missiles"? Hey we'd be doing a good thing by not allowing other people to fall for their scam.
louie540
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Hey. Quick question...

Post by insomaniacal on Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:54 pm
([msg=55759]see Re: Hey. Quick question...[/msg])

I had to remove your links. From your post, they can easily be deduced, but since HTS has had legal trouble in the past, we don't allow direct linking to sites with the intention of illegal activity.

But, I do agree with you. The 'Net would be better off if these scammer sites just went away. Even if we did do something to put it down, whatever group of scammers owns it would soon fix it up (Anyone who owns a domain so close to a really important domain probably spent a decent amount of time, money, or both trying to acquire it).