Application 15

Learn to reverse engineer through some common application security methods.
Forum rules
DO NOT POST ANSWERS OR SPOILERS! [IE: Mission Links, Mission File Names/Pages, Scripts/Code, etc.]

Posting these will result in warnings/bans!

Application 15

Post by Elligari on Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:35 pm
([msg=10198]see Application 15[/msg])

It's sad, i've completed all the realistic missions, and all Application missions, except for App 15. To be honest i don't see what what to do. I've tried memory addresses, decompiling, and OllyDBG (Possibly just not using that one right). Just wondering if someone could point me in the right direction on this one.
»Those whos memories fade seek to carve them into their hearts«
»All dreams are but another reality, never forget«

Image
Elligari
New User
New User
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:32 pm
Location: /dev/null
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Application 15

Post by Defience on Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:35 pm
([msg=11510]see Re: Application 15[/msg])

If that's the game with the man that jumps, you need something like tsearch or ArtMoney.
User avatar
Defience
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 3:16 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Application 15

Post by leonidas_heaven on Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:49 am
([msg=11677]see Re: Application 15[/msg])

I am using cheat Engine but don't really know where should i start from..for what values should i look for..i know i have to make the man jump to the next platform but do i have to change that value that store the height up to which jump would be taken..
Challenges are not meant to be taken easily,rather they are meant to be taken Seriously
leonidas_heaven
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 5:20 am
Location: Uttarakhand,India
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Application 15

Post by Elligari on Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:11 pm
([msg=12129]see Re: Application 15[/msg])

Defience wrote:If that's the game with the man that jumps, you need something like tsearch or ArtMoney.


I've tried tsearch, the values usually just seem to change the display in the corner, but not the position.

I found by watching the programs activities that it accesses an unknown key in the registry, but I'm unable to confirm whether or not that has anything to do with it yet. Even with a registry monitor all i find are values pointing to basic settings, and D3D properties.

EDIT: As in, i saw "Password=&RegCreateHKCUKeyEx" in the activity. which obviously means it's creating a key in WINREG::HKEY_CURRENT_USER::? Where? No idea. I can't seem to find any modifications that don't get deleted immediately or have anything but default values and settings.
»Those whos memories fade seek to carve them into their hearts«
»All dreams are but another reality, never forget«

Image
Elligari
New User
New User
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:32 pm
Location: /dev/null
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Application 15

Post by Elligari on Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:34 am
([msg=12156]see Re: Application 15[/msg])

Seems that registry key is just to get people who find it to waste their time?

Anyway, i got it to halt the movement of the character by just using pointers to lock the address. I can't be assed trying to figure out why the movements send the co-ords step through 39892123-20910312-69238472 while going in one direction.
»Those whos memories fade seek to carve them into their hearts«
»All dreams are but another reality, never forget«

Image
Elligari
New User
New User
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:32 pm
Location: /dev/null
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Application 15

Post by jl51392 on Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:30 pm
([msg=12492]see Re: Application 15[/msg])

notice in the top left hand corner it shows you the x and z cordinants were is the y

y=hight try searching for the value of y
jl51392
New User
New User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 6:48 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Application 15

Post by Elligari on Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:18 pm
([msg=12520]see Re: Application 15[/msg])

jl51392 wrote:notice in the top left hand corner it shows you the x and z cordinants were is the y

y=hight try searching for the value of y

I'm aware, i've developed games in DRPro and Direct X before. In the 3d axis:

X: SIDE <> SIDE
Y: FRONT<>BACK
Z: UP<>DOWN

Also, in the application it doesn't tell you the coordinates, it just says something like;
x<0,y>0

Finding the coordinates in the memory is as simple as just watching for writes to addresses withing the programs allocation block.

Finding out how to modify them when they're not even a stable value: Eh.
»Those whos memories fade seek to carve them into their hearts«
»All dreams are but another reality, never forget«

Image
Elligari
New User
New User
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:32 pm
Location: /dev/null
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Application 15

Post by rootux on Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:23 am
([msg=14606]see Re: Application 15[/msg])

Finally I was able to get to the other platform by freezing the function that checks for the jump.

Though I don't see any password?

what does it mean when it says the password should be on the other platform?

When I "return the gravity" on the other platform I just fall and game is over.

Edit: The above is not the right way to solve it. Instead I've use the key instructions to perform something and then
updates some values. Done!
rootux
New User
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:42 am
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Application

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests