How to restore network connectivity on PT 7.3.2.6?

What's the best way to setup a home network? Why should I care about BGP?

How to restore network connectivity on PT 7.3.2.6?

Post by ghostheadx2 on Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:26 pm
([msg=93617]see How to restore network connectivity on PT 7.3.2.6?[/msg])

So near the beginning of this semester, my progress on my netacad account got wiped since I was using a fake name. Sucks eh? Anyways, I'm all caught up and ahead of where I was. Doing chapter 7 now and having some hell of a time.

I get that I'm supposed to restore connectivity in this particular packet tracer. I don't see what the real objective way of doing that is. Here is my summer of what I've tried:

  1. access interface
  2. configure interface
  3. bring interface up

So I think the objective has to do with the fact that there are two IPv4 PCs and two IPv6 PCs. I'm trying to achieve dual stack networking I think. I mean, I think that's the point of the exercise is to understand how that works.

Here is a photo of the topology:

Image
Screen shot of toplogy

I don't think I have the command history from the previous time I was using packet tracer, unless there's a way to check it. Thank you so much.
Last edited by ghostheadx2 on Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ghostheadx2
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:19 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Problems with Packet Tracer 7.3.2.8

Post by 000000ffffff on Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:49 pm
([msg=93618]see Re: Problems with Packet Tracer 7.3.2.8[/msg])

Have you tried using the IPv4 mapped address to enable dual-stack capability?
000000ffffff
New User
New User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:26 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Problems with Packet Tracer 7.3.2.8

Post by ghostheadx2 on Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:50 pm
([msg=93624]see Re: Problems with Packet Tracer 7.3.2.8[/msg])

Here's what I have done

I tested the connection from each PC to its own switch, each of the routers, as well as the switches on the opposite end. I've done it with tracert and manually with ping.

The only problematic device is Switch 4. This is because it's ipv4 and ipv6 addresses cannot be configured, even when I wipe the startup-config, reload, and start over, I still end up with this.

Every time I go to an interface, even if it's up, and try to configure IP, it won't let me:

Code: Select all
Switch4(config)#interface fastethernet 0/2
Switch4(config-if)#ip address 10.15.1.0 255.255.0.0
                      ^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.
   
Switch4(config-if)#ip ?
  dhcp  Configure DHCP parameters for this interface
Switch4(config-if)#ip dhcp
% Incomplete command.
Switch4(config-if)#ip dhcp ?
  snooping  DHCP Snooping
Switch4(config-if)#ip ?
  dhcp  Configure DHCP parameters for this interface
Switch4(config-if)#ipv4 ?
% Unrecognized command
Switch4(config-if)#ip address
Switch4(config-if)#ip address?
% Unrecognized command
Switch4(config-if)#


I can't enable ipv4 or ipv6 using i.e. "ipv6 enable" etc.

So I don't know what the problem is with this. It's a much more challenging packet tracer than the ones that came before it.

-- Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:05 am --

I edited the file itself. Now I'm up to this:

https://files.fm/u/x2f9eraz

Could someone help with this still? I have been modifying the default gateways of the PCs to try and match the IPs of the routers and it's not working.

-- Sat Apr 29, 2017 12:55 am --

Alright, I started the file over and now I'm focusing on R3 to try and bring the Serial0/0/0 interface up.

Here's the current file as is:

https://files.fm/u/kxkzytta
ghostheadx2
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:19 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: How to restore network connectivity on PT 7.3.2.6?

Post by Jillianpetrova on Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:09 am
([msg=94031]see Re: How to restore network connectivity on PT 7.3.2.6?[/msg])

Your tutorial is a big help! Interestingly, this is 3.2.6 for me. Took awhile to find this tutorial.

Regards,
Jillian Petrova
Get Coursework Help Online UK
Jillianpetrova
New User
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:04 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: How to restore network connectivity on PT 7.3.2.6?

Post by Clippingpath77 on Mon Oct 09, 2017 1:11 pm
([msg=94754]see Re: How to restore network connectivity on PT 7.3.2.6?[/msg])

Jillianpetrova wrote:Your tutorial is a big help! Interestingly, this is 3.2.6 for me. Took awhile to find this tutorial.


I did not understand what are you talking about. which tutorial is your big help?
Clippingpath77
New User
New User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:26 am
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests